Derby City Council is urging Derbeians to head to the polls on 4 July and cast their votes in the General Election.

Residents will be able to vote for who should be their local MP. In Derby, there are three constituencies, Derby North, Derby South and Mid-Derbyshire. Voters will be able to select one candidate on their ballot.

If you were registered for a postal vote and haven't sent it back, you can drop it off at your local polling station or reception at the Council House on 4 July. You’ll be asked to complete a form when handing in your postal vote.

If you are registered to vote but have not applied for a postal vote, you will have received a polling card in the post and you will need to go to your local polling station to vote.

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm on polling day (Thursday 4 July). Details of your polling station are available online and will also be on your polling card. Your polling station might have changed since the last elections so make sure to check your poll card for the correct information.

You do not need to take your polling card with you, but it will speed things up at the polling station if you do. Pencils will be provided, but you are welcome to bring your own pen or pencil to use.

Before heading to the polling station, you’ll need to make sure you’ve got an accepted form of photo ID. Most voters will already have an accepted form of photo ID that they can use, but it’s important that you double check the list of eligible forms of ID in advance to make sure that you don’t miss out on your chance to vote.

Once the polls close at 10pm on Thursday 4 July, all the ballot boxes will be taken to Derby Arena, where the votes will be counted overnight.

For further information on elections visit our website.